Anessa Perfect UV Sunscreen Battle: Skincare Gel vs Skincare Milk

This battle was bound to happen. Since 2019, I’ve become a loyal fan of Anessa. It was always a wishlist sunscreen for me, but the price always stopped me (#BrokeStudentLife). Before my school camps started, I thought about long and hard about it, and I decided it was time to invest in a good sunscreen. 

The biggest reason why I love Anessa is that I’ve seen its effectiveness. While everyone was being sunburned during my camps, my skin remained protected. I was literally the only person in my camp group who didn’t get sunburned. Previously, I’ve also read a mothership article on how a cosmetic inspector tested out different sunscreens simultaneously and I was convinced. Girl, the pictures don’t lie. 

About Anessa’s Perfect UV Sunscreens:

Anessa is a Japanese skincare brand which is under Shiseido. The Anessa Perfect UV Sunscreens are well-acclaimed and highly ranked. In fact, these sunscreens are ranked first place for many years. Both Perfect UV sunscreens are suitable for the face and body. They have SPF 50+ and PA++++.

The outstanding feature of these sunscreens is that they are formulated with an Aqua Booster EX Technology. This strengthens the UV protection properties of the sunscreen when exposed to water or sweat. For someone living in Singapore, or generally hot and humid countries, this feature comes in useful. I’m sure many of you understand the irritation when your face is practically melting the moment you step out of the house. Luckily, I’ll know that my sunscreen is able to survive through that.  At the same time, it is waterproof but removes easily through cleansers. 

Comparisons:

Application and Texture: 

The biggest difference between the two is their application and texture. From the name, skincare milk suggests a runny texture. The milk version is catered towards people with dry skin. It applies easily because of its watery texture, but surprisingly, it gives a very smooth  and soft finish. Perhaps it’s because this version contains silicone. If you’re interested in the milk sunscreen, don’t forget to shake it before using it.

Perfect UV Skincare Milk

On the other hand, the gel version has a watery gel texture and it gives a dewy finish. Between the two, the gel sunscreen left a slightly oilier finish compared to the milk version. For people with combination skin, this is the version for you. 

Perfect UV Skincare Gel

Both sunscreens apply really well, while staying lightweight and hydrating to the skin. They have little to no white cast. Moreover, I find that they sit well under makeup. 

Scent:

These have a scent that quickly dissipates after a while. Between the two, the milk version seems to have a milder scent. 

Price:

They are pretty pricey. Some of you are probably comparing these sunscreens to Sephora sunscreen prices. Yes, for a drugstore sunscreen, they are in the same price range making these lowkey expensive. But, I’d say that they are a worthy investment. 

The Skincare Milk costs SGD$41.90 and the Skincare Gelcosts SGD$34.90. These are available in Watsons stores, so I’d recommend getting this when they have sales. I bought mine during a sale, so I got my first skincare gel at roughly $27+. If you’re interested in the Skincare Milk, they offer a set of three for SGD$89.90. 

I made my first purchase in August and this lasted till May with consistent use. But since work from home started, I’m using less product than before. Still, this bottle lasted me through camps, travels and everyday use (and yes, I do re-apply during the day).

Overall:

Personally, I’d stick to the gel version since it’s friendlier to my wallet compared to the milk version. If you’re looking for a more lightweight sunscreen and a less oily finish, the milk version would be a better option for you. 

But overall, these sunscreens are definitely worth a try. It’s my everyday go-to choice that I trust, especially for Singapore’s weather. 

Hope this review helps. 

Don’t forget your sunscreen! Your skin will thank you for it in the future. 

Stalk me at:

Instagram: @matchaslushie (beauty) 

                  @fartingpizzza (food)

                  @alifeforgod

Tik Tok: @matchaslushie

On your phone? Check out https://matchaslushie.onuniverse.com

Email: matchaslushie@gmail.com

**The Anessa Perfect UV Sunscreen Skincare Milk was gifted. But, all opinions stated are my own. 

2 thoughts on “Anessa Perfect UV Sunscreen Battle: Skincare Gel vs Skincare Milk”

  1. You didn’t compare the ingredients and the kind of UV it offers protection against..which I feel is the most important features of a sunscreen

    Like

  2. thank you for this review! It was exactly what I needed since I couldn’t test the gel without buying it and it’s a little pricey for me to take a chance on a sunscreen that I may not like. Now I know I’ll stick with my milk one!

    Like

Leave a comment